Blog Post: May Beauty Favorites…So Far?!

Well, with the stresses of seminary finished now (I can’t believe it!), I can sit down and think about my May Beauty Favorites…Thus Far! 

First: Nuxe Reve de Miel Lip Balm. 

I discovered this lip balm through EssieButton or Estee on YouTube; this is one of her favorites, and smells exactly like a Terry’s Chocolate Orange. It is a British Favorite for the lips, and I had to order it from Amazon to get it, but lets just say, it was worth it, because not only does it smell amazing, but it also works wonders as a lip mask for my parched lips! No matter how much I put stuff on my lips to make them less yucky, they still yell for more! And this product (in a glass jar, no less! How glam! I’m a sucker for product appearance…such consumerism!) screams luxe! And it really is. It is soothing, smells wonderful, and tastes great. Nuff said! 

Second: Amazon Kindle App. 

I know, not a beauty product, but now that I’m done with finals, I feel like all I want to do is sit back and read for fun. No theology, no scripture, no biblical studies, no seminary related anything. And it is so nice to have an app that can hold all my books in one place and if I decide I don’t want to read one book, I can switch to another book on my iPad. It is so awesome. I’m not new to the Kindle App, but I just am really growing to love it more and more, especially over the last few weeks. 

Third: Chanel Rouge Coco Shine Lipstick in Boy. 

I have been admiring this lipstick from afar for the last 7 months at my Chanel counter, and finally, I bit the bullet and purchased it while I was at the mall doing the “Back to Mac” and “5 containers back to Lush” business. I also picked up the new Chanel foundation while I was there, and saw my beloved “Boy…” and decided to get it. And it was definitely fate, since the saleswoman said there was a sale, and it was the last one. Definitely fate. Well, I don’t believe in fate, but I’ll humor the woman, who didn’t know what I do for a living. And sometimes, I just don’t want to tell everyone that I’m a pastor. But that’s another story…

Fourth: Esse Naughty Nautical Nail Polish.

This is a teal nail polish with a teeny bit of sparkle, and I bought this on a whim a while back with a coupon, and I have NOT stopped wearing it on my nails. It is super springy/summery (I’m already moving toward summer…how sad is that?!), and has a little bit of shimmer. It is definitely more green than blue, but it is extremely pretty. It is a two coat polish, but dries very quickly despite being a two coat polish (with a fast dry top coat like Out the Door or Seche Vite).  

Fifth: Jack Wills Strapless Floral Dress.

I wore this dress to my Class of 2014 dinner and chapel service and got so many complements on it. I wanted a dress that showed my pacemaker scar (since I’m proud of my battle wound!) and wanted a dress that was a little flouncy, and this dress is definitely both of those things! It is extremely fitted in the bodice, and then very flouncy in the hips, which makes skinny ladies like myself look curvy. The fun thing is that it has hidden pockets, which is great for nights out where you might not want to bring a clutch, but you still need to bring a wallet or little pouch with keys, ID, cards, lipgloss/lipstick, etc. It was playful and fun, and super comfortable to wear (minus me having to pull it up every few seconds…I’ll be having straps put on to make it a strappy dress) for a few hours out on the town. I highly recommend this dress, but the brand makes finding the perfect size a bit complicated for small ladies (there is no middle size, since everything is in British sizing, and I was in between a 4 and a 6 US – I could have used a 5? But no such size existed…so I went larger, which meant the dress didn’t quite fit perfectly…). 

May Beauty Poops: 

First: The Mac Counter at the Quakerbridge Mall. 

Your service. Let me just say. Your service stinks. I went to “Back to Mac” a few things…6 in particular, and when I left and got home, the lipstick I wanted was the wrong one in the bag. But the mall is just far enough away for me to not want to trek all the way back. Also, it was NOT in the box, but just hanging out in the bag. The guy “helping me” was a bit off, and mentioned that the other woman wasn’t feeling well…the poor pregnant woman getting her makeup done by the sick makeup artist. Suffice it to say, I won’t be going back to that Mac Counter…for anything.

Second: My Lungs. 

Well, sorry lungs, you go in an unfavorite section this month, because you suck right now. Antibiotics in, and you still suck. This smoker’s cough is not attractive, and all the boys don’t like it. So knock it off! 

 

Other favorites: 

-Favorite Song: I lived (OneRepublic) 

-Favorite Food: Nature Valley Oats & Honey Granola

-Favorite Mug: Dutch Neck Presbyterian 185th Anniversary Mug

-Favorite Book: Uhhhh I can just read anything right now so BOOKS!!!!! Books are my favorite because I don’t have to read because someone TELLS ME TO! 

-Favorite Blush: Milani Luminoso OR Hourglass Mood Exposure

-Favorite Bronzer: The Body Shop Matte Bronzer in Fair Light 

-Favorite Concealer: Radiant Creamy Concealer

 

Leave a Reply

